From the Kitchen

22 Jan

Sad week in kitchen land. Despite good intentions and planning, we only had a couple of quality dinners.

New recipes/notes for the week:

1) Honey Beer Bread – Yummy!  I had mixed all the dry ingredients for this on Monday before officially succumbing to the evil bladder infection sent from the devil to torture me. Needless to say, it didn’t get made Monday and left Tim wondering why there was a “giant bowl of flour” on the kitchen counter.  He finished up the recipe for me on Tuesday and we enjoyed this beer bread with Cajun Tilapia and sauteed snow peas.  This falls into the “make again” category.  I was even pleasantly surprised how it held up over the next few days.

2) BBQ Shrimp – I’ve been hoping to use my crockpot more during this maternity leave and stumbled onto this recipe, but it just didn’t make sense to spend 2 hours crockpot cooking something that could take 10 minutes in the stove, so I ended up making this version, from my girlfriend Ree (obviously, we are not actually girlfriends, just in my mind…). They were tasty and it was super simple/easy prep and clean up.  I’d make this one again.

3) On the dessert front, I made Snickerdoodle Blondies and Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies. Neither blew us away, but both were certainly edible.  I continue my quest for delicious, easy desserts, but fear that I’ll head back towards my beloved Grasshopper Bars sometime in the near future.  My post-pregnancy craving has been peppermint!

Here’s hoping for a smoother cooking week now that I’m finally feeling better.

2 Responses to “From the Kitchen”

  1. Teresa January 23, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Made the honey beer bread tonight. Ditto the yummy!!! and easy too!!!! Even though I did not have a fever and was not sick!!!!!!

    • JRaePhelan January 23, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      Ohh, I’m so glad you tried it. I detest making yeast breads; mine are always a flop. This is the perfect, quick bread solution.

Leave a comment