Things to Teach

16 May

I think a lot about the things I want to teach my son.  I want to teach him gratitude, kindness and respect.  I want to show him how to love with his whole heart. I hope he learns to be patient (although, likely he’ll need to learn this from his father), generous and good.  I also want him to have fun — to have so much fun that you can’t help but have fun being around him.

A friend sent me this story from Hands Free Mama this morning.  What a glorious exploration of six little words – “I love to watch you play.” What an amazing summation of exactly how I feel every day with my sweet boy and what a powerful impact those words could have on his mind, his growth, his self esteem.

And while I’m confident that he hears constantly that “Mama loves him,” I know I’ll be incorporating a new phrase into our daily discussions.

2 Responses to “Things to Teach”

  1. GiGi May 17, 2012 at 5:41 am #

    Beautiful story, wise words!!!!

  2. Teresa May 18, 2012 at 6:42 am #

    I love to read your blog and watch Luke grow:)

Leave a comment