Thanksgiving

5 Dec

I think enough time has passed that I’m ready to talk about Thanksgiving. At the beginning of this week, the only thing I was thankful about Thanksgiving was that it was finally over.

There was some initial cuteness.

MommyBoys

With our sweet boys as we were about to head out the door for the family festivities, everyone donning their Thanksgiving finery.

DaddyBoysThanksgivingWe took a few photos of our sweet Benjamin on his very first Thanksgiving.

LittleTurkey

TurkeyBooty

And 2.5 minutes later, it all went downhill.  Like the crescendo of a song, cymbols were clashing and guitars blazing and Benjamin vomited.  Everywhere.  Again. And again. And again.  And, if you’ve never had the pleasure of hanging out with a vomiting 4-month old (which, I thankfully had not), you know know that the “everywhere” that they are vomiting is really code for all over every part of you.  I changed my clothes more often that day than I needed to change his.

Tim and Luke headed out to Thanksgiving dinner and I stayed home for some delightful cheese, crackers with a heaping helping of worry, concern and fear for my sweet little one.  All said, Benjamin was sick Thursday through Saturday.  Mommy was sick Friday and Saturday.  Daddy wasn’t quite himself on Sunday and poor Lucas rode the illness choo choo Sunday and Monday.

The rest of our “holiday” looked a lot less like the festive smiles above, and a whole lot more like this:

image[1]

image

photo[1]Those supplies?  They showed up on a white horse ridden in by my amazing mother on Sunday — the cavalry for sure.  Glove wearing, grocery carrying and bleach spraying, she Mary Poppins’ed her way through the house getting everything back in order.  Soup was heated. Gatorade served. Counters cleaned.  Laundry done.

I don’t think I was ever so grateful to be going back to work on Monday since it meant Benjamin was well enough to head to school.  Luke and Tim were home for one more day of recuperation from the plague that befell us.

Now that I’ve had a bit of distance from the holiday, I think the thing I’m most grateful for about Thanksgiving is that my children are so rarely that sick.  Good health means more to me now than it usually does and I’m so thankful that our stop in Noro-virus-ville was short-lived (even though it felt like an eternity).

One Response to “Thanksgiving”

  1. GiGi December 6, 2013 at 7:25 am #

    Great pre-vomit pictures!!!!

Leave a Reply

