One Month Old

21 Aug

Dear Benjamin,

Peeling your “One Month” sticker off its shiny backing this morning was almost too much for me.  I know how quickly these coming months are going to slide through my fingers — like grains of sand pouring through an hourglass, I can mentally fast forward past the next eleven months and am already celebrating your first birthday.  It’s going to go too fast … isn’t it already, in fact, because, my baby, you are one month old.  It’s so, so difficult for me to comprehend this since I’m sure I just gave birth to you yesterday.BenjaminOneMonthFinal

My littlest boy, you are sweetness personified. You are a snuggler — wanting nothing more than to be held all the time.  You prefer to curl up, legs frogged under you, on someone’s chest.  Your sweet breath warming my neck nearly all morning long as you wiggle and worm your way into your favorite position and drift off to sleep.

You almost never cry, but that doesn’t mean you are quiet.  You grunt and groan.  You gurgle and sometimes coo.  You’ve made more noise this month than your brother did in his first six, I think. In fact, your strategy is brilliant – because every sorta-kinda-cry-like noise you make begets an instantaneous response from me.  I figure if you are worked up enough to shriek, you must be devastated and need me immediately.  Well played, little brother guy.

Benjamin, you eat constantly, which means you are growing beautifully and Mommy is rather chained to the couch.  You have just about outgrown your newborn diapers, but still fit in your newborn clothes.  I imagine we will kiss those goodbye in the next few weeks.  Most days, you are a good sleeper – waking up once or twice each night – other days, you want to sleep all day and party all night.

We are all desperately in love with you already.  Your big brother can’t get enough — and we apologize for the constant smothering.  Just know that he means it with the best of intentions, although I recognize that good intentions don’t heal crushed bones or dry drooled upon heads. He loves to show you off to his friends at school and proudly declares you are “his baby.”

You are our perfect addition, and it is already hard to imagine life without you here.

Love you every second of every day,Your Mama

BenjaminMonth1Details

Month1Boys

LucasBenMonth1

LucasBenMonth1b

 

4 Responses to “One Month Old”

  1. Marjorie Seamans August 21, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    First month expressions excellently expressed. Grampy

  2. GiGi August 21, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

    Beautiful words, beautiful pictures!!!

  3. ann lindblade August 22, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    Thank you Jess for sharing your boys lives with me. Your writing is fantastic. stay happy!!

  4. Teresa August 29, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    This blog is precious. Your words bring back so many happy memories for me with my children.

Leave a Reply

