Mine!

27 Nov

Mine.

Mine.

Mine.

Oh, sorry, was that annoying to you?  Well I can assure you that it is much less annoying than the number of times per day that I hear this delightful word screamed in my direction.  It’s Luke’s absolute favorite and he doesn’t hesitate to use it.

“Hey Lucas, wanna put your shirt on?” I say.  He responds “MY SHIRT!” because certainly what I was really saying was “I can’t wait to cram myself into this size 24 month t-shirt that is sporting a huge bulldozer on it.  It will look awesome in today’s work meetings.

Sometimes, we will be heading out to run errands and I’ll say to Tim, “can you hand me my purse?” And, like a flash of lightening, Lucas appears screaming “MY PURSE! MINE!” because, ‘duh mom,’ it makes complete sense that he should carry around the giant bag that weighs nearly twice what he does and, while he’s at it, he should do the grocery shopping too.  Fruit snacks for all.

A personal favorite of mine is during daycare pickup… I arrive, rather bedraggled from a busy day at work, and ask him “how was your day?” to which he immediately responds ‘MY DAY!” Finally, something that I wish was mine… an awesome day filled with playing outside, making crafts, snacking, taking a two hour nap!  I totally get him being protective of this!

He also spends quite a bit of time reinforcing his possessive statements.  After shouting to stake his claim, he will follow up his proclamation with “not Mommy’s… not Daddy’s… not Tali’s…. DOUCAS.

One Response to “Mine!”

  1. GiGi November 27, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    The wonder and awe of a two year old!!!

Leave a Reply

