I’m a creeper.

2 Aug

How many times would you say is “normal” to sneak into your child’s room and peek at them sleeping?

I’m assuming you all answered with 5,407 times per night.  Which means that I’m  slightly above average with my number of visits.

I’m a night creeper.  From the moment I lay Lucas down in the crib, I’m planning my return to his room. My quiet approach to the door.  My gentle touch on the door knob.  My tip toe over to the crib.  And then my internal battle over wanting to reach out and brush the hair off his forehead or tuck his blanket a little tighter.

People always said I’d want to make sure he was breathing – that I’d have the parental urge to make sure all was well.  It really isn’t that – at least not anymore.  It’s more about the peaceful sleep face… the rhythmic breathing… the booty in the air… the hugging of the monkey.

It’s addicting. Tonight, I actually considered reading my book in his room to breathe in all the peace and calm and heaven happening in there.  And then I realized that would likely wake him, and then all the peace, calm and heaven is immediately sucked out of the room with a giant Dyson from Hell which turns my nightly bliss into ear piercing, eye clawing torture.

So I stuck with creeping.

5,942 times.

2 Responses to “I’m a creeper.”

  1. Nan August 2, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    Great blog and so truthful. Nothing more peaceful than
    watching a babe sleeping!

  2. GiGi August 2, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Creep now, you will blink your eyes, and before you know it, he will be creeping into your room, watching you sleep, startling you into wakeful terror!!!

Leave a Reply

