Moments in Time

24 Apr

I’ve been thinking a lot about photography these days.  Tim gave me a beautiful new camera for my birthday and it’s been a lot of fun to move away from “auto” shooting and think more purposefully about each image.  Of course, all my subjects — Lucas, Tali and Tim– remain less than willing participants in my desire to pause time (both in reality and through photography).

When I logged onto Facebook this morning, I was reminded that today is my cousin Kelly’s 20th birthday (Happy Birthday Kel!), but clearly, I thought, this was some kind of mistake.  Kelly could only possibly be 10.  I remember when she was born – a gorgeous little baby and a sweet little girl.  Who didn’t fall in love with those blonde ringlets of hair?  This, of course, made me think of my sweet boy.  One of the first things everyone comments on is his strawberry (and plentiful) locks.  Before we know it, I imagine I’ll be waking up on his twentieth birthday, and, as part of my celebration, I hope I have plenty of paused moments in time to reflect back on.

Ironic to come into work and find an influx of folks sharing these two videos – created by a Dutch filmmaker and father.  His children’s life, growth, personalities – their moments – all beautifully captured in less than three minutes.  What a gorgeous tribute to his children and such an amazing way to honor this magical parenting journey.  Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Moments in Time”

  1. Teresa April 24, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    So true and well said Jessica. It was just yesterday that my beautiful girl was born and now she is all grown up, but will remain my baby forever:)

    • Kelly April 24, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

      Thanks Jess!
      Yes Mom, I’ll always be your baby 🙂

Leave a Reply

