From the Kitchen

23 Sep

1) Rustic Roasted Chicken with Roasted Vegetables – I normally avoid chicken thighs.  They have weird skin and usually red spots.  They also have bones, which reminds me that I’m eating a chicken and not just some tasty thing that never walked around and clucked.  But, my husband loves dark meat chicken, so for him I departed from my strong preference for pounded paper thin chicken breasts and cooked this meal.  And, guess what?  I didn’t melt.  It wasn’t awful.  In fact, it was quite tasty and certainly very simple.  Luke liked it too.  Thus, for my boys, I shall make it again.

2) Honey Butter Pork Tenderloin – I was quite excited for this dish.  I rushed home from work to make it.  And, it was easy peasey lemon squeezy…. until… Luke was fussing and it was getting late for dinner and I was getting panicky.  And, instead of just continuing to make dinner without getting all distracted and mama bear-ish about the fussing, I let myself get distracted.  While distracted, I was getting ready to make the honey reduction sauce and grabbed the pot’s handles (with both hands) of the pot that came right out of the 350 degree oven….  And, then I spent the rest of the night with my hands submerged in water and the rest of the week being able to read “Cuisinart” branded onto my thumb.  It was special.  Tim will have to review this item since I’m not sure I was even able to taste it that night.

3) Pumpkin Nutella Swirl Muffins – yummmmmmmy.

4) Pumpkin Pancakes – Made these with the leftover pumpkin from the above pumpkin muffins (which I mistakenly only made half of a recipe of due to an in-house Nutella shortage) and served them to Tim/Luke for breakfast.  Tim gave them a fair to middling review, but my bub scarfed ’em down.

4 Responses to “From the Kitchen”

  1. Meg September 26, 2011 at 5:26 am #

    Here I am commenting, anxiously waiting your next Luke post.

    • JRaePhelan September 26, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      Well, ask and ye shall receive. Just posted.

  2. Tim September 26, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    For the record, the honey butter pork tenderloin was very good, although a bit dry. I enjoyed it as an entree as originally served and also had some tasty pork sandwiches later in the week.

  3. JRaePhelan September 26, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Pork is always dry in our house. Meat shouldn’t be red/pink when consumed.

Leave a Reply

