Daily Luke

10 Aug

When I look at this picture, I see so much more than two hands.

I see one hand that has so many years experience.  A hand that traveled to and fought in Korea.  A hand that raised five beautiful daughters and laughed with twelve grandchildren.  A hand that gardens.  A hand that cares. A hand that has been there.  A hand that I wish would always be there.

I see another hand that is so new and so lovely.  A hand without experience.  A hand that is sticky and pink.  A hand that is pudgy and puckered.  A hand that is learning every single day.  A hand that I hope will learn from the other.  A hand that I hope will remember the love that shone in this moment.


4 Responses to “Daily Luke”

  1. Teresa August 10, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    Beautiful, Jess.

  2. Nan August 11, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Jess-
    What a wonderful tribute. I am going to copy and frame this. Pops and I were deeply touched. Thank you.

  3. GiGi August 11, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    A few words that speak volumes…… I am soooo proud to be family to the hands and to the writer.

  4. jan kinnally August 11, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    Wow!!! This was so very beautiful…. and true..
    It was so great to finally meet Luke and see you and Tim.. Luke is the best… what a good baby … sweet as can be… you guys are so lucky!!
    I am so happy that Nan and Pops are with us to enjoy the good fortunate that our family has been blessed with …
    Send many more pictures
    Love, Jan

Leave a Reply

