Breaking the Rules

27 Jul

Tonight I broke the rules.

I rocked the baby to sleep.  I didn’t put him down “drowsy but awake.”  I didn’t let him cry it out in his crib.  I let my sweet baby boy fall asleep in my arms and I held him asleep for longer than I have in many moons.  As I rocked back and forth and inhaled his sweet smell, I said prayers for so many little boys that have been on my mind lately.

I prayed for Tripp and his brave Mama Courtney. One day, I’ll tell Luke about Tripp and about what it means to be strong, brave and only two years old.

I prayed for Henry and his brave Mama Katie.  I hope that peace and resolution finds the path to their door soon.

And, as I did all that praying and hoping and dreaming, I hugged my little boy closer, and decided that, for tonight, the rules didn’t matter much.

Leave a Reply

