Rushing

25 Jul

I’m always in a rush.

I’m in a rush to get to work.  I’m in a rush to get home.  I’m in a rush to run errands.

I was in a rush to have the baby, and now that he is here, I’d like to remind myself to stop rushing.  Or, should I say, stop rushing him.

I think, as parents, it is natural to compare.  When parents of similarly aged children get together, the milestone game begins.  “Is Luke crawling? My son crawled at 7 months.” “Does Luke have teeth?  My child could have chewed through a steak at 8 months.” And so on and so forth…. And, for most normal parents, these are totally typical questions that elicit perfectly normal responses.  When I get asked these questions, I start to sweat in a total panic that we are behind schedule.  And, I like to rush.

So, from here on out, I’ll welcome these questions and I won’t feel like I need to go home and coach Luke in pulling up, crawling, walking and growing teeth.  Instead, I’ll come home and savor these days.  There are only a few days of all gummy grins, wobbly sitting and stationary playing – especially compared to the years and years I have to enjoy him walking, talking and chewing.  For once, I’ll take things as they are.  I’ll slow down and enjoy every second of this baby-dom, because he’s already seven months and “baby-dom” will be over before I blink.

2 Responses to “Rushing”

  1. Teresa July 25, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    So true:)

  2. Nan July 25, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Jess- Truer words were never spoken. Enjoy these baby days. They do go by too fast and you will miss them. xo

Leave a Reply

