I’ll never…

23 Jun

I’ve started sentences that way many times.  Those of us with a flare for the dramatic enjoy blanket statements.

I’ll never live in this house for more than five years. (coming up on our seventh anniversary)

I’ll never eat eggs.  (what can I say, they are tastier than they look)

I’ll never be able to function on four hours of sleep.  (then Luke arrived…)

I think you get the picture.  Of course, many of my “I’ll never” statements surrounding parenting were quickly shot out of the water when a pooping, screaming, bad latching 8 pounder landed in my arms.  But, one of my most adamant “I’ll nevers” came in the form of “I’ll never make my child’s baby food.”

I totally judged women who made their kid’s baby food.  Why would they ever take the time to make baby mush?  Why would they do such a crazy thing when baby food comes in those super convenient little containers and there is practically an entire aisle of options?

So, today, I confess.  I’m a baby food making machine.  And, I love it — every bit of me that hated breastfeeding really likes this.  I started making Luke’s food out of sheer practicality.  Those adorable little containers cost like a buck a piece – for a mere two ounces of mush.  Go organic and they cost even more.  Then, I began to question the quality of vegetables and fruits that don’t require refrigeration and expire in 2012.  That’s more than 12 months of shelf sitting for that small container of bananas.  I wouldn’t eat a 14 month old banana, so neither shall Luke.

One trip to the bible Wholesome Baby Food revealed how easy it would be to take matters into my own hands.  Peel, steam, puree, freeze – the basic steps of baby food making.  Thus far, I’ve made avocado, banana, apples, butternut squash, sweet potatoes, green beans, carrots and pears.  I freeze the mush in lidded ice cube trays and, once frozen, pop the cubes out into freezer bags.  They are good for up to three months in the freezer.

One cube = one ounce of mush = all that Luke will eat right now before spitting it back in my face in a fit of raspberry blowing anger.  Ah well, he’ll get the hang of it right?  Until then, I’ll be peeling, steaming, pureeing and freezing the weekends away.

One Response to “I’ll never…”

  1. GiGi June 28, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    I especially like the gagging shudder illicited with the first taste of the delicious mush green beans!

Leave a Reply

