I am From

23 Apr

My version of this George Ella Lyons poem.

I’m from March 18, 1981, a snowy morning in Baltimore, MD.

I am from oversized t-shirts and stirrup leggings, from Book-It reward Pizza Hut pan pizzas and competitive Candy Land games.

I am from walks on Holiday Lane to visit Shadrack and a town I thought they named “New” just for my family.

I am from the sweet honeysuckle plants in the spring and charming holly bushes in the winter. From races to catch fireflies before dusk ends our night-time outdoor play.

I am from Amy and Tommy stories in the car and waiting at the top of the stairs for the coffee to be made on Christmas morning.

I am from Elizabeths and LeRoys, Marjories and James.  From secret trips to the attics at Grammy’s and the basement at Nan’s.

I am from the exaggerators and the observers.

From “Dad’s allergic to cats” even though he really wasn’t and just didn’t want one as a pet and Mom pronounces “Venezuela” like “Ven-e-sue-lea” and Barbara Streisand like “Barbara Striest-dand”

I am from CCD on Wednesday nights and delicious, devlish cheers when church was skipped on Sundays.

From the soft, velvet ears of Chelsea dog, the white sandy beaches of island vacations and the halls of Council Rock High School.

I am from the smell of coal smoke in the winter, hikes in the woods at Tyler Park, the anticipation of homemade cookies in my lunchbox and good stock.  I can hardly ask to be from more.

4 Responses to “I am From”

  1. Meg April 23, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    Ditto.

  2. Nan April 23, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    “I am” just deeply touched — so many wonderful memories!

  3. GiGi April 24, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    Bravo, well done!!! Just a few questions, who are the exaggerators, and who are the observers!!!! A great trip down memory lane, how about….the first plane trip looking for the “care bears” in the sky, the green milk on st.patty’s day, the struggles with the first bike ride, presidential classroom and the meeting with Bill Clinton, all those soccer games, wow, you got me going,,,, from your enunciating mom!!!! Love you.

  4. Meghan April 24, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    I used this when I student taught in Philly. It always brings up great memories!

Leave a Reply

