Repeat after me…

28 Mar

I can do this.

I can do this.

I can do this.

Today, I go back to work, and I can do this.

I can leave my sweet little bundle in the hands (hopefully capable ones) of complete and total strangers.  I can walk out of the building and be away from him for 9 hours – 6 hours longer than I’ve ever left him before.  I can trust… and have faith… and build confidence that I he will be okay alone.

My mantra for the day: I can do this. I love work, like a lot.  I’ve missed work, like a lot.  I love adult interaction and Tim’s tired of my constant, nightly interrogation in a desperate attempt for adult (side note: does the use of the word adult make anyone else think of “adult movie star” every time they write it?) conversation.

I believe that daycare is one of the best things for Lucas.  They will be able to expose him to things that I cannot – like interacting with other children, art projects (I hate crafts) and really important skills like how to sleep in a crib and not just use it like a toilet.

So, with that said, I can do this, although I may need a side order of tissues today.

 

3 Responses to “Repeat after me…”

  1. Kristin March 28, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Good Luck Jess! Luke (and you) will do great. Let me know how it goes.

  2. Tim March 28, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    You can do this, you can do this, you can do this!!

  3. GiGi March 28, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    One of many “firsts” for you and Tim, always awkward and difficult initially, but your family will develop a routine that becomes your own, and now you will love weekends more and more!!!! Love you.

Leave a Reply

