One Year Ago

24 Mar

One year ago today, everything changed.

I had been to the doctor’s office in the morning for some blood work.  After agonizing for months, we had taken the plunge and decided to commit to IVF. With that commitment (and draining a bank account) would come much blood work, many needle sticks, two invasive procedures and an agonizing two week wait.

On the morning of March 24th, I went in for my baseline blood work and gave my veins a prep talk. I told them to hang in there, that this was the first of daily needle sticks for the next few weeks.  I warned them that turning black and blue wouldn’t help.  I scolded them that refusing to give up the goods would only generate more needle sticks so they might as well spew blood on demand.  For once, they listened and I was in and out of my morning appointment lickety split.

That afternoon, I had a missed call on my cell and a voicemail from Earlynne (a nurse I’d come to know and like) asking me to call back.  I figured they’d misplaced my pharmacy’s phone number so I looked it up and called back.

“Hi Earlynne, It’s Jess.  What’s up?”  She replies…

“Well, we got your blood work back.  And, you aren’t going to be able to move forward with the IVF as planned.”

My response…. instant tears, stunned silence for a few moments and then a stammered, “by why…”

To which, she replies, “We don’t let our pregnant patients have IVF.”

I say, “You must have the wrong patient, the wrong number.  It just isn’t possible.”

 

But, it was… Everything had changed… for the better.

5 Responses to “One Year Ago”

  1. Meg March 24, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    love this story.

  2. Teresa March 24, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    I also love this story. It was the power of prayer that made this happen. (and some other stuff too!)

  3. Teresa March 24, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    My other favorite part of this is when Jess drove down to let the Baltimore folks know. As her grandmother looked at the sonogram picture, Jess jumped up and down and said “I got pregnant all by myself”!!!!!!

  4. Rachael March 24, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Love this post. What an anniversary for you and Tim. So very, very happy for you

  5. GiGi March 28, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    Just saw this post today, Jess. I vividly remember this day and the nervous weeks thereafter, including your trip to Mexico, when we weren’t allowed to speak of this wonder. You certainly shocked me into silence that day as I was sitting outside on the swing, remember…..”say what you just said again!” What a miracle!! Let’s do it again!!!!

Leave a Reply

