From the Kitchen

30 Jan

Two new recipes this past week and neither knocked our socks off:

1) In celebration of Gigi’s birthday, I made a Caramel Peanut Topped Brownie Cake (but I made it with cashews instead of peanuts).  This cake was good, but not fan-freaking-tastic.  And, when it comes to desserts, I’m all about fantastic.  Not sure what would have made it better – richer chocolate?  More brownie-like consistency to the cake?  I did love the caramel and was extremely gratified by making my own.  Even better, the recipe made more caramel than needed for the cake.  The leftovers are a-sittin’ in my fridge waiting for some ice cream.  (Now, if I just had a little less breast milk hogging space in my freezer, I’d have room for some ice cream… conundrums.)

2) Nut Crusted Tilapia with Spinach and Roasted Carrots, per my mom’s recommendation, except we had it minus the spinach… and carrots… and the Parmesan cheese in the crusting.  So, we didn’t really have it at all, perhaps that’s why it wasn’t awesome? I actually found it quite tasty.  Tim prefers his fish with a spice run/marinade so this week we’ll be returning to our old standby – Carribean Jerk Marinaded (is marinaded a word?) Tilapia.

Other old faves that found their way into our kitchen this week:

Kentucky Biscuits

The Best Little Potatoes (twice in one month, cause they are really the best…)

Grasshopper Bars (also twice in one month cause I’m obsessed…)

Meals planned for this week aren’t so exciting… We’ll see how things unfold.

 

Leave a Reply

